Joseph Jones_smallBorn:
Country of origin: USA

Composer-conductor Joseph Jones began his professional musical career at the age of 13, when he served as the violinist for the Theater Company of Rhode Island. While in high school, he performed as a violinist with the Rhode Island College Symphony and Chamber orchestras, and performed chamber music with the Greater Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras. As a tenor-baritone, he has been active singing professionally as a chorister and soloist, and also been a performing member of the Rhode Island Civic Chorale, Bryant Singers, and the Peabody-Hopkins Chorus. Most active as a timpanist-percussionist, Mr. Jones was the first timpanist of the Londowntowne Symphony Orchestra. He was for two seasons a timpanist with the Senior Orchestra of the Greater Boston Youth Symphonies, in which capacity he performed in throughout Boston and in Europe. In addition to professional, substitute engagements, and performances in honors ensembles, Mr. Jones also spent single seasons as timpanist with the MIT Summer Philharmonic, the Longy School of Music Chamber Orchestra, and the Metropolitan Wind Symphony of Natick, performing in the greater Boston area. Mr. Jones’ interest in composition began with his piano studies as a child, and he began to work as a serious composer at the age of 15. His current catalog includes works for chamber ensembles, string and full orchestra, and voice with orchestra. His principal teachers include Nicholas Maw and Samuel Adler, and he has also participated in lessons and masterclasses with Roger Cichy, Anthony Brandt, Dominic Muldowney, William Bolcom, George Crumb, David Crumb, Dalit Warshaw, Tristan Murail, and Robert Xavier Rodriguez. His works have been performed at Peabody, the Bowdoin Summer Music Festival, and at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. Mr. Jones developed his interest in conducting at an early age, and, after beginning to cultivate it with independent score study at the age of 14, began a course of study with Dr. Harlan Parker upon entering Peabody as a freshman. Following his sophomore year, he studied orchestral conducting at the South Carolina Conductors Institute, and opera conducting at the South Carolina Conductors Institute Opera Workshop at Spoleto, USA. In November 2004, he made his operatic debut with Capitol Opera, Harrisburg, as conductor and music director in four performances of Mascagni’s L’amico Fritz. In the summer of 2005, Mr. Jones was awarded a fellowship to study at the American Academy of Conducting at the Aspen Music Festival—at the time, the youngest conductor ever to receive a fellowship. He studied with David Zinman and Murray Sidlin, conducting the American Academy of Conducting Orchestra in masterclass readings and concerts. Mr. Jones is the founder, artistic director and conductor of the Empire State Sinfonia, a professional orchestra he founded in 2010. Other recent activities include being an apprentice conductor with the New York Youth symphony; a conducting fellowship with the Allentown (Pa.) Symphony orchestra (2010-2011); and being assistant conductor with the National Music Festival (2011). Mr. Jones has also appeared with the Moscow Symphony, the Kuban Symphony (Krasnodar, Russia), and the Orquestra Sinfonica de Coyo (Mendoza, Argentina.) He has worked in masterclasses with orchestras such as the Omaha Symphony and Rose City Chamber Orchestra, and  conductors such as David Zinman, Vladimir Ponkin, Michael Morgan, Murray Sidlin, Daniel Lewis, Thomas Wilkins, Mark Gibson and Victoria Bond. Mr. Jones studied composition, conducting, and viola at the Peabody Conservatory of Music.

Title: Symphony, for string orchestra op.2
Cat.No.: MA 0010096
Page: 41
Price: 30.90 Euro

Title: Fanfare, in memoriam Martin Luther King, jr op.6
Cat.No.: MA 0010098
Page: 8
Price: 14.90 Euro

Title: Four miniatures for Woodwind Quintet op.7
Cat.No.: MA 0010099
Page: 26
Price: 20.90 Euro

Title: Nocturne, for piano op.8
Cat.No.: MA 0010100
Page: 14
Price: 14.90 Euro

Title: Sonata for violin and piano op.10
Cat.No.: MA 0010097
Page: 33
Price: 23.90 Euro