RainerRubbert2Born: 1957
Country of origin: Germany

Rainer Rubbert was born in Erlangen (Franconia, Germany) in June 1957. He studied composition in Berlin with Witold Szalonek at the „Hochschule der Künste Berlin“ 1975-1981. Over the course of his artistic career, his compositions have won numerous national and international competitions, and he has been awarded a series of prizes and fellowships.
In 1979 he won the Prix Marcel Josse from the Association des saxophonistes français.
In 1984 he obtained a scholarship from the Office franco-allemand pour la jeunesse.
In 1985 he was a prizewinner in the Forum junger deutscher Komponisten für Orchestermusik, where his composition, “Bewegungen,” was performed by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.
In 1986/1987 he obtained a German government scholarship to live in Paris in the Cité Internationale des Arts.
In 1989 he won 2nd prize in the Budapest International Composers Competition for his woodwind quintet composition, “…des lignes raides fuient dans la nuit.”
In 1989 he founded the Berlin weekly concert series for contemporary music, Unerhörte Musik.
He and the composer Martin Daske have been the artistic directors of the series ever since.
In 1992 he won the Kunstpreis Berlin – Förderpreis Musik from the Akademie der Künste.
In autumn 2002 he obtained the Villa Serpentara Scholarship to live and compose in Italy for three months.
In June 2007 his cantata “Aus der Fremde” won the Carl-von-Ossietzky-Preis in the Oldenburg international composing competition.
In 2006/2007 Rainer Rubbert composed his first major opera “Kleist” with a libretto by the novelist Tanja Langer. This work had its premiere in March 2008 in the State Theatre at Brandenburg on the Havel, under the direction of Bernd Mottl.


Title: Klaviertrio
Cat.No.: MA 0010247
Page: 41
Price: 34.00 Euro

Title: Essential, for piano 4 hands
Cat.No.: MA 0010028
Page: 5
Price: 12.90 Euro